This is the "Home" page of the "Mass Communications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mass Communications  

Welcome to the James E. Cheek Library Resource Center! This guide provides resources to electronic and print materials in Mass Communications.
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2016 URL: http://shawu.libguides.com/content.php?pid=559462 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WRAL Local Weather

 

Front Page NEWS

 Newseum Banner

Here is a listing of Front Page Newspapers located in different states.  Click on Sort Papers by Region to view a newspaper.  This is the official website for Newseum http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/.

Below are some selected newspapers from the site.

Andalusia Star-News

Anchorage Daily News

The Dispatch

Harrison Daily Times

 

Associated Press

 

First Amendment & Freedom of the Press

Law/Legal Information Sources

  • First Amendment Center  
      
    This site provides access to comprehensive research covering key First Amendment issues and topics. Included is commentary and analysis by legal specialists as well as a library of related legal cases and materials.
  • First Amendment Handbook
    Hosted by the Reporter's Committee for Freedom of the Press (RCFP). This organization provides free legal help to reporters and news organizations.
  • A Journalists Guide to the Federal Courts
    This site provides information for journalists who cover the federal court system.
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Shaw University LibGuides for Mass Communication resources!

These resource guides include links to databases, websites, reference books, videos and other information related to the study of Mass Communications.

If you need help, have a question, or would like to schedule a research appointment, please contact me using the information on the right. You may also reach any of our helpful library reference staff by using the contact information on the left side of this page.


Looking for books?

The Library's print and electronic book collection can be searched by using the library catalog. To search book collections beyond those owned by the Shaw University Library, use WorldCat. Books not owned by Shaw University libraries such as the title below can be borrowed from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan.

Broadcast news by James L Brooks

For a guide to finding Journalism & Mass Communication books, use the Books tab at the top of the page.


Looking for articles?

Many databases index and provide access to articles published in journals, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, etc. A list of the databases to which the Shaw library subscribes can be found on the library page at this link Articles & Databases . Articles not available via the Library's subscriptions can be obtained from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan.

For a guide to relevant databases for Journalism & Mass Communications, use the Finding Articles/Databases tab at the top of the page.


Looking for journals or magazines?

Journals and magazines are available in print and/or electronic formats. To see if the Library subscribes to a journal, search by the title of the journal:

  1. Search for electronic holding via the Find Electronic Journals icon.
  2. Search for print holdings in the Library Catalog.
 

Malaysia Plane Crash

In memoradium of the Malaysia Airline  Plane Crash 777. 

 

President Obama victory speech

President Obama victory Speech 2012.

 

Shaw University "Happy" -Pharrell Williams

 

Eric McRay- A man and his canvas

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tanya Williams
Contact Info
919.546.8391
Send Email
 

Check out the New ProQuest databases begining January 2015. We have also included Films on Demand Video Collection and Reference USA!

Please Note: begining January 2015 new PROQUEST databases will be placed on the NC-LIVE website.  For more information please click on the link below.

 

Broadcast News Sources

Here is a list of select Broadcast News Stories.

 

Historical News Sources

These Historical sources are packed with a wealth of information.

  • British Library Newspaper Collection
    The national archive collection in the UK of British and overseas newspapers and magazines.
  • Library of American Broadcasting
    Located at the University of Maryland this site provides access to their collection of audio and video recordings, books, pamphlets, periodicals, personal collections, oral histories, photographs, scripts and vertical files devoted exclusively to the history of broadcasting.
  • Vanderbilt Television News Archives
    Providing access to an extensive archive of television news broadcasts.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip