This is the "Home" page of the "Shaw Library Orientation 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Shaw Library Orientation 2016   Tags: library tutorial  

This guide is designed to provide 1st year students with a basic familiarity of library resources and services.
Last Updated: Jan 8, 2016 URL: http://shawu.libguides.com/content.php?pid=616404 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Moodle Online Library Tutorial

The Moodle library tutorial serves as a guide for freshmen and other students in how to find and evaluate information. To get started, students will be given a pre-test and a post-test to assess their knowledge of library skills; however, first, it will be necessary for students to review all 3 tutorial modules to test their knowledge of library research. Module (1) - Introduction to Information Literacy includes selecting a  topic, defining information needs, key word searching, identifying information resources, evaluating sources, reviewing periodicals  and scholarly articles.  Module (2) - Understanding databases discusses what databases are, how thay are arranged and how to search them.  Finally, Module (3)  - What are Citations?  This module discusses what a citation is, why it is used, and the different citation styles used.  Professors may require students to use different citation styles. All students should check with their instructors to see which citation style they prefer using.

There is also a Shaw History component for students to review and learn facts about the history of Shaw University.

There are review questions at the end of each module to help reinforce understanding of the information presented.  The graded quiz at the end of the tutorial gives students a chance to practice what they have learned. All modules and tests must be completed before taking the graded quiz.

 

How to Access the Library Tutorial

Here is a link to the Shaw Library Tutorial.  The tutorial may also be accessed by clicking the Moodle link on the Shaw University webpage. After locating the course category subheadings, click Library Tutorial.

Library Tutorial

 

How to Write A Research Paper

 

How to Format a Paper in APA

 

How to Format A Paper in MLA

 

How to Write A Thesis Statement

 

How to Cite Sources

 

SNCC Photos

 
 

Books About SNCC

by Iwan W Morgan; Philip Davies;
Publisher: Gainesville : University Press of Florida, ©2012.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Shaw Libraries
 

Cooperating Raleigh Colleges

Shaw University students are granted access to other colleges and Universities in the area for books and other research material.  This exchange is called Cooperating Raleigh Colleges and Universities.  This program of exchange allows students at Shaw Univerity to use  other resources such as books and research materials in other libraries in the Raleigh area.  Books can be checked out from other libraries but other reseach materials may be used in

Libraries at CRC Colleges & Universities

Carlyle Campbell Library (Meredith College)

NC State University Libraries

      D. H. Hill Library

      James B. Hunt Library

Lucy Cooper Finch Library (William Peace University)

Prezell R. Robinson Library (Saint Augustine’s University)

James E. Cheek Learning Resource Center (Shaw University)

Wake Tech Libraries (Wake Technical Community College)

 

Things to Remember when visiting the Libraries

  • Bring your student I.D. for you will need this for security purposes.
  • Bring money for photocopying

 

 

What Will You Learn at Library Orientation 2016?

Library Orientation serves as a basic overview of the Library and its resources and services for freshmen and any student or user who is unfamiliar with the Library. The library is designed to meet all academic needs, whether finding facts for a class assignment, researching a topic for an in-depth paper, or just plain studying. There are thousands of books as well as access to hundreds of databases including thousands of journal articles and media. All resources can be used by Shaw University students, faculty and staff. Most books can be checked out with the exception of reference books. In addition, the Library is a place to find electronic information through computers utilizing print, video and electronic resources. Computers are also provided for students to perform web-based research.

 What are the Benefits of Library Orientation?

Library Orientation will teach students:

  • How to find information-- any information!
  • How to find books, videos, CDs and more
  • What to do when what you want is not in the Library
  • Where to look for articles from magazines, journals and newspapers
  • How to evaluate a website
  • How to use the Library's website to get information, answers and help
 

Scholarly vs. Popular Titles

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Can you describe the difference between articles written in scholarly and popular publications? Knowing the differences between scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles can help you to select appropriate articles for your research. However, when in doubt regarding the quality of a resource in any format, consult a librarian or your professor.

  scholarly professional journals substantial non-specialist journals
Criteria
Scholarly / Referred / Peer Reviewed Journals
Popular Magazines
Professional & Trade Magazines
Scholars vs Staff Writers
Authors are scholars and experts in the field. Authors are always named, and their institutional affiliation is given. Articles are Peer-Reviewed or Refereed. Authors are staff writers, editors, free lance writers, journalists, who are trained in journalism. They may also be anonymous. They may not nessarily be experts on their topic. Authors have expertise in a field or industry. Editors may or may not have expertise in a field or industry. They have training in editing and journalism. There is no peer review process.
Publishers
Publishers may be university presses, professional assoc. or non-profit organizations. Publishers may be corporate-backed, or individuals dedicated to making a profit. Publishers are usually corporate-backed, professional assoc. and concened with making a profit.
Sources Cited
Sources cited in bibliographies and footnotes. These sources are rarely cited. Information is often second or third hand and original source is often obscure. Sources mentioned occasionally with short bibliographies.
Content
Articles are generally longer with a focus on research projects, methodology and, theory. Language is more formal, technical and may employ subject-specific jargon. Articles are short and of general interest, with a focus on current events, news, and personalities. Articles are fairly short, with an emphasis on industry trends, new products or techniques and organizational news.
Audience & Language
Audience tends to consist of academics, scholars, researchers and professionals. Readers seek the latest news and information in their field. Audience tends to consist of generalists and non-professionals. Readers seek current news, entertainment and information. Audience tends to be members of a specific business, industry, or organizations. Readers seek the latest information and news to learn more about or improve their business or advance their careers.
Appearance & Advertising
Covers and paper tend to be plain, rarely glossy. Advertising is rare or non-existent. Pictures include black and white graphics or illustrations. Catchy titles, attention grabbing covers on glossy paper, and color photos and illustrations are common. Lots of advertising. Glossy covers may include headlines mentioning companies or organizations. Lots of color photos and illustrations.
Availability / Frequency
Published monthly, quarterly or yearly. Journals are found in many libraries but not generally at newstands. Published weekly or monthly, popular magazines are generally found at bookstores, newsstands, and libraries. Published weekly or monthly, the more popular trades may be sold at some newsstands. Libraries carry print and/ or electronic subscriptions.
Examples

Journal of Asian Studies
Current History
Harvard Business Review
Journal of Mass Media Ethics
Yale Journal of Criticism

Sports Illustrated; Time
Vogue, Newsweek
People, Forbes
Vanity Fair, Vibe
Tennis, House & Garden
Police Chief, Variety
Parks & Recreation, Advertising Week
Scientific American
Brandweek
 

Shaw University History

Former President of Shaw University, Dr. Dorothy Cowser Yancey, highlighting the history of Shaw University.

 

The Founding of SNCC at Shaw University

SNCC 50th Anniversary Logo

What is SNCC?

The Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee or SNCC (pronounced “Snick”) emerged from the student sit-ins that erupted on February 1, 1960 in Greensboro, North Carolina. Although just four students launched these sit-ins, within two months thousands of students across the south were engaged in similar protests against racial segregation. On April 15, 1960, some 200 of these campus-based activists began meeting in Raleigh, North Carolina on the campus of what is now Shaw University and formed SNCC. In 1961, a handful of these activists committed to full-time work in the southern civil rights struggle; some of them postponing their college plans. SNCC became an organization of grassroots organizers.

Historians characterize SNCC as the movement’s “cutting edge”. Its “field secretaries” worked in the most dangerous parts of the south seeking to both cultivate and reinforce local leadership. Its uncompromising style of non-violent direct action confronted racial injustice throughout the South and contributed to the elimination of racial segregation. And SNCC’s unique “from-the-bottom-up” approach to organizing led to the emergence of powerful grassroots organizations.

With “One Man, One Vote” voter registration campaigns SNCC paved the way for a new generation of black elected officials across the south. By breaking the grip of “Dixiecrats” on southern politics they changed forever politics in America. It is this work that laid the foundation for the election of America’s first African-American President, Barack Obama.

Now, 50 years after its birth, veterans of SNCC are planning a major gathering, partly to commemorate its founding, but also to begin a serious effort at documenting the still under-recognized impact of this organization of young people, most of whom had not reached the age of 25. This 50th reunion and commemoration will emphasize stories and presentations by those who fought the battles, suffered the agonies and achieved the victories in one of the most far-reaching struggles for human rights in the 20th Century.

SNCC veterans have continued to seek meaningful social change, and working to insure that all people had access to vote. Among these veterans are John Lewis, Julian Bond, and Eleanor Holmes Norton, who will be joining the commemoration to tell their stories as student activists. Importantly at this commemoration, they and other SNCC veterans will be reaching out to young people who are searching for ways to tackle the unfinished social, political and economic issues that confront them as 21st century activists.

Finally, the conference will formally signal the beginning of the SNCC Legacy Program, a historical preservation and interpretation process that will record the oral histories, collect the original records, photographs, videotapes and publications produced by SNCC workers that collectively tell the story of this remarkable movement of young people.

 

SNCC Images

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tanya Williams
Contact Info
919.546.8391
Send Email
 

Use NC LIVE!

 

Library Hours

James E. Cheek
Main Campus Library

Hours: Monday - Thursday 8am -11pm
  Fridays 8am - 5pm
  Saturdays closed
  Sundays 3am -11pm
Between Sessions: Monday - Friday (Closed Weekends) 8am - 5pm
Phone: Circulation Desk (919) 546-8407

For a listing of our other libraries on campus please click the link below.

Hours and Location

 

Ask NCKnows!

Attention students!  Please take advantage of ASK NC KNOWS!  Librarians are awaiting your questions.  If you are off campus and cannot make it to the library this will be a great resource to assist you.  If you are in your dorm in your pj's and don't want to get dressed to go to the library, Ask NC Knows would be an excellent source to get your research questions answered.  We look forward to hearing from you in the new semester.

 

Shaw Library Goes Digital!

The Shaw Bear [1964]
Want
to know more facts about Shaw's rich history?  Consult the digital yearbooks! Look at pictures of Shaw and the students 50 years ago as Shaw continues to thrive.  Click on the "Shaw Bears" link below to go back in time with Shaw University in 1964.

 

Who Was Ella Baker?

Legends & Legacies View More

Ella Baker: 10 Facts

Published: 12/13/2013
Content Image

Ella Baker, official of the Southern Conference Educational Fund, speaks at the Jeannette Rankin news conference on Jan. 3, 1968. (AP Photo / Jack Harris)

Ella Baker was one of the great civil right leaders of the 20th century. Working alongside Martin Luther King Jr., Thurgood Marshall and others, she helped make the United States more equal. Dec. 13 is the anniversary of both Baker's birth in 1903 and death in 1986. That she died on her 83rd birthday is just one of many fascinating facts about Baker. Here are 10 more:

1. One of Baker's early influences was her grandmother, who had been a slave. Baker's grandmother told her stories of slave revolts and related her own sad tale of being whipped for refusing to agree to an arranged marriage.

2. Baker was valedictorian of her class at Shaw University in Raleigh, N.C.

3. After college, Baker moved to New York City, where she immersed herself in the culture of the Harlem Renaissance. While working for the Works Progress Administration, she became politically involved, protesting Italy's invasion of Ethiopia, supporting Alabama's Scottsboro defendants, and advocating for local action and grass roots campaigns for social change.

4. Baker was married for about 21 years to her college sweetheart, T.J. "Bob" Roberts. Their busy lives made marriage difficult, and they divorced in 1958.

5. In 1940, Baker began working for the NAACP as a secretary. By 1943, she had risen to become director of branches, making her the organization's highest-ranked woman. She worked for the NAACP until 1953, when she resigned to run an unsuccessful campaign for New York City Council.

6. In 1957, Baker attended the inaugural conference of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC).Once the organization became official, Baker was the first staff member hired, working as a community organizer.

7. Baker next turned her skills as an organizer to the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), which she helped form as she guided students who were leading campus sit-ins to work together as a larger movement. So important was Baker to the SNCC that she became known as the organization's godmother. Among other initiatives, Baker helped the SNCC launch the Freedom Rides in 1961.

8. Through SNCC, Baker mentored many of the young people who formed a new generation of civil rights leaders, among them Rosa Parks, Stokely Carmichael, Julian Bond, Diane Nash and Bob Moses.

9. Among Baker's most passionately held beliefs was, as she put it, that "strong people don't need strong leaders." She believed the various organizations working toward civil rights would suffer if they were led by individuals with great influence and power. That philosophy sometimes led her to clash with Martin Luther King Jr., among others.

10. Since Baker was most in her element behind the scenes, she didn't become as well known as some other civil rights leaders. It appeared that this was fine by her –– indeed, it was what she preferred. In her own words, "You didn't see me on television, you didn't see news stories about me. The kind of role that I tried to play was to pick up pieces or put together pieces out of which I hoped organization might come." Throughout her life and her career as an activist, she put her skills to work, bringing people together to make change happen.
 

Written by Linnea Crowther. Find her on Google+.

- See more at: http://www.legacy.com/news/legends-and-legacies/ella-baker-10-facts/1754/#sthash.7MBEIvth.dpuf

 

Check out the New ProQuest databases begining January 2015. We have also included Films on Demand Video Collection and Reference USA!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip