Shaw University Library Guides: English & Literature: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

What are reference sources?

Authoritative works that provide background, summarized, and/or introductory information about a topic in a clear and organized way. They can be in print and online. For example:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Bibliographies
Directories
Handbooks

Reference sources can help you:

Choose or narrow your research topic.
Find background information and context for your research topic.
Define unfamiliar terms and find specific facts.
Find keywords for catalog and database searches.
Find other resources on a topic using bibliographies and works cited lists.

General Reference Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
eLibrary helps simplify the research process and empowers novice researchers to more easily and efficiently choose their research topic and find authoritative information to support their research claim.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
The worlds premier encyclopedia, in a digital, searchable format.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia. A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Credo Reference overview video

Credo Reference Mind Map tutorial video

English and Literature Specific Reference Sources

The Cambridge History of English and American Literature
Searchable online Encyclopedia of English and American Literature
Poetry Translation Center
Translations of contemporary poetry from Africa, Asia and Latin America into English. Includes the original text, a literal translation, and a verse translation.