Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Services & Access: Databases & eArticles

This guide describes the services the library offers that can be utilized remotely and how to access them.

What are databases? Why use them?

Databases are searchable indexes of published, reliable resources like scholarly journals, encyclopedias, and newspapers. They provide citation information and often the complete text of articles.

How is a library database different from a website?

Source: Enoch Pratt Free Library

Table comparing databases vs. websites

Find information and tutorials on a handful of our top databases below.

Accessing Databases

The University Library provides access to over 118 online databases (found here and here) on a wide range of subjects, including business, career and test prep, health, humanities, language learning, literature, news, North Carolina, religion, science, and social sciences.

A handful are highlighted on our Electronic Databases page, and many more can be found through the NC LIVE site.

After clicking a database link, you will be brought to a page where you enter your Shaw credentials to gain access to the resource. The Library uses the same single sign-on used to access Bearsnet and Moodle.

For tips on searching, see the Get Started with Research page. Please contact us if you need assistance with databases.

General Reference Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Films on Demand

Films on Demand contains thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

Using Proxy for Off-Campus Access

When accessing online library resources such as databases and ebooks from off-campus, you will first be taken to the Proxy Login page. Here you will enter your Shaw University credentials:

  • For Students:
    • Use your student ID# for the username, and the associated PIN as the password. (These are the same credentials you use to get to Bearsnet, the same password you use for your @bears.shawu.edu email.)
  • For Faculty and Staff:
    • Use the prefix only of your shawu.edu email address as the 'Username' (e.g. 'yourname' in yourname@shawu.edu)

You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member of Shaw University to be granted access.

Please contact us if you have any trouble with this process.

ProQuest

ProQuest is the Library’s largest database. It contains articles from major international and national newspapers such as The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal, as well as scholarly / peer-reviewed research for most topics, including business, science, social science, education, and history. If uncertain where to begin your search, ProQuest Central is an excellent place to start.

ATLA Religion and ATLASerials

ATLA Religion with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.

For further assistance, please contact us!
Shaw University Libraries - James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center
118 E. South Street - Raleigh, NC 27609
919-546-8407 - shawu.edu/libraries

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.