Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives: Shaw History: Get Started

A research guide to help you on your way to learning more about Shaw History, using Archival research and links as well.

About this Guide

This guide was created to supply our Shaw Community with further stories and research compiled by the Shaw University James E.. Cheek Learning Resources Center while performing Archival Research. The narratives in these pages are all in the context of Shaw University, and do not supply a complete story or background of people or events if the information does not pertain to our University History.

We highly recommend that you also continue your research on our ContentDM website of Archives to see objects from our actual Archival collection.

Library Quick Links

a tall tan building with glass doors and shrubbery, with a black sign stating it is the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center

General Archive Assistance

Need help?

Profile Photo
Marie Stark
Contact:
University Archivist - James E. Cheek Learning Resource Center, 1st Floor
919-546-8202
Website

ContentDM

The Shaw University Archives are currently in the process of becoming available to you digitally, using our ContentDM Shaw University Archives website.

Once completed,  you will be able to digitally access some of our most requested collections, and find more information to help your archival research on the way. Please be aware that this project is a work in progress, and has not been fully completed.

You can access the website here: CONTENTdm

For assistance with this resource, or to set up an appointment with our Archivist to access the physical archives collection, please contact us at the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center.

An Overview of Shaw's History

Shaw Rising - Documentary

"Shaw Rising," a documentary depicting the history of Shaw University and our impact on the course of education and social justice in the United States, from our founding in 1865 to the inauguration of our 18th president, Dr. Paulette R. Dillard. The documentary was written and produced by Hal Goodtree, directed by Tim Finkbiner.

In 2021, Shaw Rising won an Emmy for Feature Documentary, Historical in the Nashville region of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Shaw University: The HBCU Experience (ABC)

The HBCU Experience goes into the depth of Shaw University History, including its founding through events in 2021. 

Aired February 3, 2021

For further assistance, please contact us!
Shaw University Libraries - James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center
118 E. South Street - Raleigh, NC 27609
919-546-8407 - shawu.edu/libraries

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.