Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives: Get Started

Providing information on the Shaw U Archives Collection

Library Quick Links

a tall tan building with glass doors and shrubbery, with a black sign stating it is the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center

Metadata Librarian

Profile Photo
Sam Thorne
Contact:
Metadata Librarian - James E. Cheek Learning Resource Center, 1st Floor
919-546-8597
Website

Location and Access

The Shaw University Archives are located in the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center.

118 E. South Street - Raleigh, NC 27609  --  919.546.8202


The Archives and Archival Materials are available to the community in a digital capacity only, and restrictions apply to Archives use depending on the case, which may include:

  • restricted access to historical documents
  • digital-only viewing of documents

Digital services from our Archives, including images and PDF files can be sent to your email.

What's in the Archives?

The mission of the University Archives and Special Collections is to appraise, collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available records of historical, legal, fiscal, and administrative value to the institution. The Archives also serves research and scholarship by making available and encouraging the use of its collection by faculty, staff, students, alumni, and the community at large. 


Our Archives collection at Shaw University is one full of all of the history of the Mother of HBCUs in the South - and there's a lot to see! With a strong mix of images, documents, yearbooks, and historical items, we hope to help preserve the greatness of Shaw University well into the future.

We currently have many featured collections such as:

  • The Henry Martin Tupper Collection
  • The Charles Francis Merserve Collection
  • The Robert Prentiss Daniel Collection
  • The William Russell Strassner Collection
  • The William Stuart Nelson Collection
  • The Leonard Medical School Collection
  • The Forbes Family Collection

For further assistance, please contact us!
Shaw University Libraries - James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center
118 E. South Street - Raleigh, NC 27609
919-546-8407 - shawu.edu/libraries

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.