Shaw University Library Guides: BUS 204 (Principles of Business) : Library Basics

Search Books, Databases, eBooks

Search the Library Catalog to find books, ebooks, articles, journals, newspapers, DVDs, musical scores, and more.

Do a basic keyword search, or use the advanced search to search by things like author, title, or ISBN, and to combine multiple search terms.
Once you have a list of search results, use the options on the left to narrow your results by criteria such as format, publication year, subject, or language.
For tips on searching, see the Get Started with Research page.
Items available electronically will have a "View eBook" or "View full text" button. Items available in person will have details about where to find it in the library.

Course textbooks are available if your instructor has previously requested the library have a copy available.

Here's how it works:

Search here for the textbook you need, or ask for help at the Library's front desk.
Books are organized by course number and kept behind the front desk. To request your book, come to the desk and tell us what your course number is. (e.g. HIS 204).
Show your Student ID card to check it out.
The book checks out for 3 hours and must stay in the Library.
If you need more than 3 hours, return to the front desk. You will be allowed to renew your time if nobody else is waiting.

Databases are searchable indexes of published, reliable resources like scholarly journals, encyclopedias, and newspapers. This is where you would look for articles.
Ours cover a wide range of subjects, including business, career and test prep, health, humanities, language learning, literature, news, North Carolina, religion, science, and social sciences.
After clicking a database link, you will be brought to a page where you enter your Shaw credentials to gain access to the resource. The Library uses the same single sign-on used to access Bearsnet and Moodle.
For more details and tutorials, visit the Remote Services & Access guide, or ask us for help.

Google Scholar
Find scholarly sources through Google's free academic search.
NCLIVE Search
Find all resources available through NC LIVE, North Carolina’s statewide library cooperative, supporting 200+ public and academic libraries across North Carolina.
ProQuest Central
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
JSTOR
Find Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.

eBooks Academic Collection
Find a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Ebook Central Academic and Library Complete
Find scholarly ebooks on all subjects.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Find over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly and professional books online.
Gale Ebooks
Find encyclopedias and reference sources that cover a variety of topics.
hoopla
Find audiobooks and eBooks on a variety of topics once you create a personal account.

Kindle: Free eBooks
Amazon offers some Kindle ebooks for free. Read them in your web browser or download the free Kindle app.
Open Library
A variety of genres and subjects, contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
OpenStax
Open-source, peer-reviewed textbooks.
Project Gutenberg
The first and largest collection of free eBooks. Provides access on your computer and a variety of portable devices to books no longer in copyright.
Read.gov
A small selection of classic books, mostly for children, made available by the Library of Congress.