Open Educational Resources (OER) and Free Tools: Find & Evaluate

A community of sharing and open music.

A collaborative database of Creative Commons licensed sounds.

Educational audiobooks, podcasts, documentaries, and courses.

Free music recordings, sheet music, and music education resources.

Publisher of a number of peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all major disciplines of science, medicine, technology, and social sciences.

A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series. All the research published by BioMed Central's journals is open access.

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent, and all data is freely available.

Elsevier is a global information analytics business specializing in science and health. Their open access resources search list can be helpful in finding journals on these topics.

Journals covering the disciplines of biological, physical, and social sciences; medicine; education; mathematics; engineering, and computer science.

A non-profit organization founded by biomedical scientists, currently publishing and sharing several open-access biomedical journals.

SAGE Publishing's open access journals.

Includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.

Supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal.

The HBCU AL$ Portal provides any HBCU free access to the tools, technologies, and some services for them to initiate their own AL$ program and learn from their HBCU colleagues.

OER Commons is an OER platform where educators can find and share OER from various disciplines and for various education levels.

Free, open textbooks that have been curated for the most frequently taught courses across North Carolina's 2 and 4-year colleges and universities.

Write a review of an open textbook in your field to help created better peer reviewed textbooks for everyone to use. To become a reviewer, send an email to open@umn.edu.

Open-source, peer-reviewed textbooks.

With iterative texts, powerful annotation tools, rich media support, and robust community dialogue, Affordable Learning Georgia's OpenALG transforms static open textbooks into living digital works.

Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.

Open access books in the fields of science, medicine, technology, and social science.

An open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries, and launched in 2012.

Mathematics-related open textbooks. Includes supplements and a link to order print copies of the book.

The first and largest collection of free eBooks. Provides access on your computer and a variety of portable devices to books no longer in copyright.

A small selection of classic books, mostly for children, made available by the Library of Congress.

OpenALG offers this resource to help you find and evaluate open textbooks to use in your research.