Title 17, U.S. Code governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyright material.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted work. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research".
If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," the user may be liable for copyright infringement.
This institution reserves the right to refuse a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of the copyright law. The granting of permission to publish by the Society does not absolve users of materials from securing permission from copyright owners and payment of such additional fees as the owners may require if the Society does not own copyright or if the material is not in the pubic domain.
Remote Scanning Requests
Research requests that include a request for materials to be scanned and sent to you have a page limit maximum of 50 pages per researcher per request, with a 250 page maximum per researcher per year. If your research parameters would exceed the 50 page limit, we will request that you narrow down your topic or work with our staff to identify a narrower range of materials.
In Person Scanning
Researchers who visit the archive are welcome to scan materials using phone apps or phone cameras, as long as they do not use the flash function. For the use of our scanner while visiting, please speak with the archivist. To use any other personal scanning technology, please speak with the archivist.
We ask for approximately 5-10 business days to respond to initial research requests. Research requests typically take between 3-5 weeks to process.
The Shaw University Archives are located in the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center.
118 E. South Street - Raleigh, NC 27609
Mission Statement
The mission of the Shaw University Archives and Special Collections is to appraise, collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available records of historical, legal, fiscal, and administrative value to the institution. The Archives also serves research and scholarship by making available and encouraging the use of its collection by faculty, staff, students, alumni, and the community at large.
The principal goal of the Shaw University Archives is to collect, preserve, exhibit, and make available to students, faculty, staff, and researchers’ materials of all formats that record the operation of the University and the activities of the surrounding community. The Archives supports the research and institutional needs of Shaw University as well as its unique core curriculum with its special collections and services. Through promotion and preservation of these primary source materials, the Archives connects people with information and ideas intended to encourage creativity and lifelong learning. In addition to collecting the institutional records of Shaw University, the Archives also collects materials that support the history of the African Diaspora, civil rights, and racial and social justice in collaboration with the Center for Racial and Social Justice.
The Shaw University Library Archives has a rich history and collection, for which it proudly creates and curates themed exhibitions displaying its collections.
The University archives will provide both virtual and in-person research assistance and document scanning. To request archive and special collections assistance please contact the Library’s Archivist or Library Director.
Subjects We Collect
Formats We Collect
The Archive is open to researchers by appointment only and follows the general schedule of the University Calendar and University Library Operation Hours.
Reading privileges are granted subject to the following policies.
Absolutely no food or drink of any kind, including gum, is allowed in the Archives area
No book bags, briefcases, handbags, or other items for carrying materials can be brought into the room.
Only pencils may be used during research.
Outside reference materials must have advance approval by the Archive’s staff.
No cameras are allowed in the Archive.
The collection policy prohibits the copying of entire collections, restricted materials or complete oral histories (Notes may be taken).
There is a limit on the amount of materials given to any one person during research (i.e. one box, folder, etc)
The Archives' staff will pull all materials from the shelves for the researcher
Appointments must be made prior to visiting for research.
Patrons visiting the Archive must fill out a registration from and show picture ID.
Theft and mutilation of documents are crimes failing to abide by these policies may be denied access to the collections and further legal steps as deemed appropriate by the Library, the Archives, or Shaw University.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.