Authoritative works that provide background, summarized, and/or introductory information about a topic in a clear and organized way. They can be in print and online. For example:
These sources cover topics such as designing research projects, understanding different research methods, interpreting data, conducting research, and writing up findings.
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research by
Case study research has a long history within the natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities, dating back to the early 1920′s. At first it was a useful way for researchers to make valid inferences from events outside the laboratory in ways consistent with the rigorous practices of investigation inside the lab. Over time, case study approaches garnered interest in multiple disciplines as scholars studied phenomena in context. Despite widespread use, case study research has received little attention among the literature on research strategies. The Encyclopedia of Case Study Research provides a compendium on the important methodological issues in conducting case study research and explores both the strengths and weaknesses of different paradigmatic approaches. These two volumes focus on the distinctive characteristics of case study research and its place within and alongside other research methodologies. Key Features Presents a definition of case study research that can be used in different fields of study Describes case study as a research strategy rather than as a single tool for decision making and inquiry Guides rather than dictates, readers′ understanding and applications of case study research Includes a critical summary in each entry, which raises additional matters for reflection Makes case study relevant to researchers at various stages of their careers, across philosophic divides, and throughout diverse disciplines Key Themes Academic Disciplines Case Study Research Design Conceptual Issues Data Analysis Data Collection Methodological Approaches Theoretical Traditions Theory Development and Contributions From Case Study Research Types of Case Study Research
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by
Information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics. Specifically designed to appeal to beginning and intermediate-level students, practitioners, researchers, and consumers of information.
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results. It covers the spectrum of research design strategies, from material presented in introductory classes to topics necessary in graduate research; it addresses cross- and multidisciplinary research needs, with many examples drawn from the social and behavioral sciences, neurosciences, and biomedical and life sciences; it provides summaries of advantages and disadvantages of often-used strategies; and it uses hundreds of sample tables, figures, and equations based on real-life cases.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods by
Covers all major facets of survey research methodology, from selecting the sample design and the sampling frame, designing and pretesting the questionnaire, data collection, and data coding, to the issues surrounding diminishing response rates, confidentiality, privacy, informed consent and other ethical issues, data weighting, and data analyses.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.