Shaw University Library Guides: History: Discover Sources

Recommended Databases

History and related disciplines:

Arts & Humanities Database

Journal database covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, and more.
Career & Technical Education Database

Find articles covering vocational education topics, such as building trades, automotive technology and more.
ProQuest Research Library

Find journals, trade publications, and magazines covering a wide variety of academic disciplines.
NewsBank Black Life in America

Find the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, from 1976 to the present.
Exploring Race in Society

Find essays that provide a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past.
Global Breaking Newswires

Find newswire content and news archives from around the world.

Other Resources

National Historic Landmarks Program
Historic places as designated by the Secretary of the Interior.
National Register of Historic Places
Official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation as authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966.
Genealogical and Family History Resources
Resources from the US National Archives.
UNC Library Digital Special Collections
A large selection of historical resources hosted by the UNC Wilson Library Special Collections
The True Size Of...
This interactive map shows the "true size" of countries and US states on a global map, allowing you to move shapes and dimensions around the globe to compare.

DigitalNC

Pictures, Videos, and More

Picryl
Picryl is the largest search engine for public domain images, documents, music, and videos. PICRYL makes world's curated public domain media collections searchable and readily available anywhere, anytime, on any device. Search millions public domain images from Library of Congress, NASA, The Internet Archive and hundreds of other sources.
Virtual Story Map - Wilmington Massacre and Coup d'état of 1898, Timeline of Events
New Hanover County Library with help from the County (ArcGis) - georeferenced maps

Digital Collections

Digital Black History
A free, searchable directory for online history projects that can help further Black History research.
Digital Public Library of America
Digital Public Library of America provides users access to a variety of collections including museums, library, and other historical depositories. All material is free and immediately available in digital format. Their Primary Source Sets provide primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The collection includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. Items can be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, language, and contributing institution.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the archives of the United States federal government. NARA’s holdings are created either by or for the Federal Government. The material comes from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches.
The Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
DocsTeach
Search thousands of primary source material from the National Archives collections. Limit and refine your searches by time period or document type.
The American Memory Project
Funded by the Library of Congress
National Archives and Records (NARA)
National records are kept on a variety of subjects. Many people consult NARA records when tracing family records and histories.

Recommended Online Journals

History Related Journals:

Open Access Journals on History:

These journals are available without logging in to our Proxy services, and can offer you a wider variety of topics and coverage.

We also recommend that you check out the Directory of Open Access Journals to continue your research into specific topics.

Still Searching? Try This!

If you are looking for an article, journal or book that Shaw University does not have access to, we may be able to get you access through Interlibrary Loan or CRC Lending.

Shaw University is a member of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges, which means that Shaw students, faculty, and staff can borrow items at other CRC libraries. Prior to going to one of these libraries, you must pick up the appropriate documentation from the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center. Learn more about CRC here.
We also use Interlibrary loan, which ships an item from another library to Shaw U for you to borrow. It can take some time for items to arrive as they are sent by USPS mail and a form is required. Request an ILL here.

For details and request forms, see the Other Lending Resources guide.

If you are having trouble with your research, we can help! We are always available at the front information desk at both the James E. Cheek main library and the Divinity library during our operating hours. You can also email us at librarystaff@shawu.onmicrosoft.com.

Check out the Using the Library guide for more information about our services and help.