At Shaw University, we work collaboratively with faculty and staff to bring the students into the archive. Our archivist partners with professors and instructors to integrate archive visits and archive materials into classroom assignments. This effort gives students key research skills and experience with archives.
Please click through the tabs in this box to view some of the work students have produced using the archives.
In Fall 2023, Professor Natalie Hill brought her Honors English 165 class into the archive to work on a research project. Their focus was discovering information about Shaw University veterans and veterans from the surrounding area. The students in this class were able to use the university archive and local museums to create their project documenting the histories of African American servicemen, before and during the racial integration of the military.
At Shaw University, we are continuously working to increase access to and knowledge of our archives. Check out the below links for some other projects we have worked on:
February 6 - April 14, 2021
Curated by Alexi Sprague and Paul Baker
In honor of Shaw's 155th Anniversary, beginning October 2020
Created by Alexi Sprague
October 1, 2020 - July 30, 2021
Curated by Velma Williams
November 2 - 16, 2019
Curated by Paul Baker, Alexi Sprague, and Larry Treadwell
November 25, 2019 - February 2, 2020
Curated by Alexi Sprague and Larry Treadwell
November 6 - December 15, 2019
Curated by Paul Baker and Alexi Sprague
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.