Shaw University Library Guides: Business Management: Subject Sources

Learn more about Shaw's Business Management Undergraduate Major

Recommended Business Databases

Business Management and related disciplines:

ABI/INFORM Collection

Find business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Business Market Research Collection

Find company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions

Find data about U.S. companies, including ownership and sales volume. Research local businesses and markets.
Entrepreneurship Database

Find business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases and more.
Wall Street Journal

Find full articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1981 through current.

Advertising Ad*Access (Duke University Libraries)
Access over 7,000 US and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories—beauty and hygiene; radio; television; transportation, and World War II propaganda—dated between 1911 and 1955.

Other Online Sources

Reports

Economic Indicators
The monthly publications that provide economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, and other topics.
Congressional Budget Office
Performs independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process.
Federal Reserve System
This government site provides economic research data and consumer information as related to monetary policy and banking information and regulation.
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Information to protect market users and the public from fraud and abusive practices related to the sale of commodity and financial options.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles with information about hundreds of occupations.
Country Commercial Guide
Reports on market conditions, regulations, opportunities and customs prepared at US embassies world wide.

Guides

SBA Business Guide
The Small Business Association has a click-through step-by-step guide for planning a business, along with other resources.
B-plans
Business resources available for free.
Kauffman Entrepreneurs
Best practices in entrepreneurial leadership to advance economic growth around the world. Produced by the Kauffman Foundation in partnership with the U.S. Commerce Department’s International Trade Administration.
Nielsen
Official website for the world's leading marketing and media information company.

News

All Business
A business news site.
Access Business News
Browse business and trade journals, available through NewsBank.

Stocks

NASDAQ
The Nasdaq Stock Market is an American stock exchange at One Liberty Plaza in New York City.
New York Stock Exchange
At the New York Stock Exchange, we are driven every day to lead through innovation and we are proud to be the exchange of choice for those who embrace new thinking and fresh ideas.

Recommended Online Journals

Business Related Journals:

To access these journals, make sure you are logged in to your Shaw University GMail or Bearsnet in your browser. Access is provided to Shaw University students, staff, and faculty.

Open Access Journals on Business:

These journals are available without logging in to our Proxy services, and can offer you a wider variety of topics and coverage.

We also recommend that you check out the Directory of Open Access Journals to continue your research into specific topics.

Books in the Library

Good Company: Business Success in the Worthiness Era

eBooks

The PMI Guide to Business Analysis

Starting Out in Project Management

Getting It Done: Project Management in Action

Practice Standard Work Breakdown Structures

Still Searching? Try This!

If you are looking for an article, journal or book that Shaw University does not have access to, we may be able to get you access through Interlibrary Loan or CRC Lending.

Shaw University is a member of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges, which means that Shaw students, faculty, and staff can borrow items at other CRC libraries. Prior to going to one of these libraries, you must pick up the appropriate documentation from the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center. Learn more about CRC here.
We also use Interlibrary loan, which ships an item from another library to Shaw U for you to borrow. It can take some time for items to arrive as they are sent by USPS mail and a form is required. Request an ILL here.

For details and request forms, see the Other Lending Resources guide.

If you are having trouble with your research, we can help! We are always available at the front information desk at both the James E. Cheek main library and the Divinity library during our operating hours. You can also email us at librarystaff@shawu.onmicrosoft.com.

Check out the Using the Library guide for more information about our services and help.

Business Management