Shaw University Library Guides: Divinity Graduate Programs: Discover Sources

Christian Education Recommended Books in the Library

Christian Education Handbook Edited by Bruce P. Powers

Principles and Practices for Baptist Churches by Edward T. Hiscox

Old Ship of Zion by Walter F. Pitts

Christian Education Recommended eBooks

Urban Legends of Church History by Michael J. Svigel and John Adair

Southern Baptists: A History of a Confessional People by Slayden A. Yarbrough and Michael Kuykendall

Baptist Foundations Edited by Mark Dever and Jonathan Leeman

Baptists in America: A History by Thomas S. Kidd and Barry Hankins

Christian Leadership Recommended Books in the Library

A History of Preaching by O.C. Edwards Jr.

Preaching with Sacred Fire Edited by Martha J. Simmons and Frank A. Thomas

Leading the Congregation by Roger Heuser and Norman Shawchuck

Christian Leadership Recommended eBooks

Removing the Stain of Racism from the Southern Baptist Covention Edited by Kevin M. Jones and Jarvis J. Williams

Baptist Foundations Edited by Mark Dever and Jonathan Leeman

Problems of Christian Leadership by John Stott

Divinity Recommended Books in the Library

Homiletics by Karl Barth

Hermeneutics, Religion, and Ethics by Hans-Georg Gadamer

Hegel Lectures on the Philosophy of Religion Edited by Peter C. Hodgson

Divinity Recommended eBooks

Testimony and Tradition: Studies in Reformed and Dissenting Thought by Alan P.F. Sell

Biblical Exegesis and the Formation of Christian Culture by Frances M. Young

Schleiermacher Hermeneutics and Criticism Edited by Andrew Bowie

Homiletics: Principles and Patterns of Reasoning by Wilfried Engemann

School of Divinity Graduate Programs

The Shaw University Divinity School offers three graduate degree programs:

Master of Divinity

Pastoral ministry, ordination or licensure

Master of Arts in Christian Leadership

Church leadership, congregational ministry, advocacy and community outreach

Master of Arts in Christian Education

Children, youth or family ministers, directors of Christian education and nonprofit professionals

For more information on the graduate programs and on the Divinity School, visit their website.

Recommended Databases

Religion and related disciplines:

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of multi-discipline journal articles.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Search their open access content.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

General Databases

NCLIVE Search This link opens in a new window
NC LIVE is North Carolina’s statewide library cooperative, supporting 200+ public and academic libraries across North Carolina. Since its founding in 1997, NC LIVE has saved the state millions through innovation and collaborative efforts.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works; an NCLive resource.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of multi-discipline journal articles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's free database for scholarly research.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.

Recommended Online Journals

Religion-related journals:

Journal of the American Academy of Religion 1989-2018; Oxford
Religion and American Culture : R & AC 1997-2020; Berkeley
International Journal for Philosophy of Religion 1989-2020; Dordrecht
Religions of the World San Jose
Journal of Biblical Literature

Open Access Journals on Religion:

These journals are available without logging in to our proxy services and can offer you a wider variety of topics and coverage.

We also recommend that you check out the Directory of Open Access Journals to continue your research into specific topics.

Journal of Reflective Practice Open Access Journal (OAJ) for Pastoral Counselors
Entangled Religions: Interdisciplinary Journal for the Study of Religious Contact and Transfer
Open Theology
Approaching Religion
JRFM: Journal for Religion, Film, and Media

Still Searching? Try This!

If you are looking for an article, journal or book that Shaw University does not have access to, we may be able to get you access through Interlibrary Loan or CRC Lending.

Shaw University is a member of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges, which means that Shaw students, faculty, and staff can borrow items at other CRC libraries. Prior to going to one of these libraries, you must pick up the appropriate documentation from the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center. Learn more about CRC here.
We also use Interlibrary loan, which ships an item from another library to Shaw U for you to borrow. It can take some time for items to arrive as they are sent by USPS mail and a form is required. Request an ILL here.

For details and request forms, see the Other Lending Resources guide.

If you are having trouble with your research, we can help! We are always available at the front information desk at both the James E. Cheek main library and the Divinity library during our operating hours. You can also email us at librarystaff@shawu.onmicrosoft.com.

Check out the Using the Library guide for more information about our services and help.