Computer Science: Discover Sources

What are databases?

A database is an organized collection of information. Library databases are searchable, online collections that contain reliable resources. 

Why should I use databases for research?

Databases are helpful for conducting research because they contain reliable, published sources that you have access to through the library. They are easily searchable, with advanced searching features that allow you to tailor your search.  

Think of a database like a bookshelf full of books in the library. These books are related, but only some of them contain information that is relevant to you. As you change your search, you are narrowing the books down to only those that contain information relevant to your research. The database helps you conduct your search for information. 

How do I use databases?

Databases have built-in search features, including advance searching options. Check out ProQuest's basic search tutorial, ProQuest's advanced search tutorial, or JSTOR's tutorial to learn about how to search a database. For additional help learning how to search, check out our Research Help page.

What are articles?

An article is a piece of writing published in print or online. When looking at sources, there are typically two types of articles you will find: journal articles and news articles. Journal articles are peer-reviewed scholarly writing, published through an academic, usually subject-specific, journal. News articles are journalism pieces published through news sources. They are not peer-reviewed in the same way journal articles are and are not solely academic; however, they are regarded as reliable and acceptable in certain disciplines. 

Why should I use articles?

Journal articles are useful sources when conducting research because they are a reliable source of current and up-to-date research in an academic field. Similarly, news articles are a much more current source of information than other forms of media. Journal articles are the primary way research is published and are thoroughly evaluated by other professionals. Journal articles are also narrowly focused on specific subjects. 

How do I find articles? 

To find peer-reviewed, journal articles using the library catalog, watch this Catalog Search Demo. To find news articles, most news websites have a search feature. Additionally, we offer access to several news sites through our Databases, including The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. 

What are reference sources?

References sources are works that provide background, summarized, and/or introductory information about a topic in a clear and organized way. They can be in print and online. For example, encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, directories and handbooks are all reference sources.

Why should I use reference sources?

Reference sources can help you choose or narrow down your research topic, help you find background information or context, help define unfamiliar terms, help find keywords for additional searches, and help you find other resources on a topic by using bibliographies or works cited lists. You can think of reference sources as a beginning or entry point to your research. 

How do I find reference sources?

You can access a few reference databases through the library, including Credo Reference, CQ Researcher and Encyclopedia Britannica. To learn about using Credo Reference, watch this video. To learn about using CQ Researcher, watch this video. 

Computer Science and related disciplines:

Computer Science Related Journals

Open Access Journals on Computer Science and Information Systems:

These journals are available without logging in to our Proxy services, and can offer you a wider variety of topics and coverage.

We also recommend that you check out the Directory of Open Access Journals to continue your research into specific topics.

If you found an article, journal or book that Shaw University does not have access to, we may be able to get you access through Interlibrary Loan or CRC Lending. 

• Shaw University is a member of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges, which means that Shaw students, faculty, and staff can borrow items at other CRC libraries. Prior to going to one of these libraries, you must pick up the appropriate documentation from the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center.
• We also use Interlibrary loan, which ships an item from another library to Shaw for you to borrow. It can take some time for items to arrive as they are sent by USPS mail, and a form is required. Request an ILL here. 

For details and request forms, see the Other Lending Resources guide.

If you are having trouble with your research, we can help! We are always available at the front information desk at both the James E. Cheek main library and the Divinity library during our operating hours. You can also email us at librarystaff@shawu.onmicrosoft.com. 

Check out the Using the Library guide for more information about our services and help.