Shaw University Library Guides: Music : Subject Sources

Learn more about Shaw's Music Undergraduate Major

Recommended Music Databases

Music and related disciplines:

Choral Public Domain Library
Find free choral and vocal scores, texts, translations and other useful information.
Freesound
Find CC licensed audio samples in this collaborative repository.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Find education research and information.
JSTOR
Find Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.

Websites & More!

CVNC: An Online Arts Journal for North Carolina - Events
See local performing arts events and details on performances.

Musical Scores

American Memory
List of notated music available through the Library of Congress.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
Mutopia
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others.
New York Philharmonic
The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy digital Archives was launched in February 2011, and currently comprises more than 1.3 million pages. It contains teaching resources for music instruction as well as live young peoples concerts and more.

more... less...

It includes14,000 printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs. When completed, the online collection will contain every document in the New York Philharmonic Archives from 1842 through 1970, more than 3 million pages — including correspondence, marked scores and parts, contracts, and minutes from meetings of the Board of Directors — as well as all public documents from 1970 through today, including marketing materials, press releases, and annual reports.
African American Sheet Music from the Brown University Library Center for Digital Scholarship
The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use.
Musical Scores from the University of Illinois Music Library
This collection contains 97 scores to musicals and operettas found in the collections of the University of Illinois Music Library.
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006 by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.

Recommended Online Journals

Music Related Journals:

Open Access Journals on Music:

These journals are available without logging in to our Proxy services, and can offer you a wider variety of topics and coverage.

We also recommend that you check out the Directory of Open Access Journals to continue your research into specific topics.

CVNC: An Online Arts Journal for North Carolina
Empirical Musicology Review
ECHO: A Music-Centered Journal
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created and edited by graduate students in the Department of Musicology at UCLA. Articles address music in diverse social contexts, and are not confined to any geographically, historically, or methodologically bounded genre.
Music Theory Online
Open Access Journal of criticism, commentary, research, and scholarship in music.
Journal of Embodied Research
Transactions of the International Society for Music Information Retrieval

Books in the Library

On Music Theory and Making Music More Welcoming for Everyone

Black Country Music: Listening for Revolutions

eBooks

Music and Democracy: Participatory Approaches

Music and Mystique in Muscle Shoals

Music Around the World: A Global Encyclopedia

Still Searching? Try This!

If you are looking for an article, journal or book that Shaw University does not have access to, we may be able to get you access through Interlibrary Loan or CRC Lending.

Shaw University is a member of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges, which means that Shaw students, faculty, and staff can borrow items at other CRC libraries. Prior to going to one of these libraries, you must pick up the appropriate documentation from the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center. Learn more about CRC here.
We also use Interlibrary loan, which ships an item from another library to Shaw U for you to borrow. It can take some time for items to arrive as they are sent by USPS mail and a form is required. Request an ILL here.

For details and request forms, see the Other Lending Resources guide.

If you are having trouble with your research, we can help! We are always available at the front information desk at both the James E. Cheek main library and the Divinity library during our operating hours. You can also email us at librarystaff@shawu.onmicrosoft.com.

Check out the Using the Library guide for more information about our services and help.

Music