Shaw University Library Guides: Chemistry: Subject Sources

Recommended Databases

Chemistry and related disciplines:

Science Research
Using state-of-the-art federated search technology from Deep Web Technologies, ScienceResearch.com accelerates your research by returning the most relevant results from over 300 authoritative science and technology collections to one, easily navigable page.

Science Database
Find science articles on topics such as global warming, energy, robotics, genetically modified food, and more.
PubChem
Find information on the biological activities of small molecules by searching for chemical substances and chemical structures.
ScienceDirect
Find abstracts from the most frequently cited journals in the fields of science, technology and medicine, including browsable tables of contents by searching open access content.
MatWeb
Find data sheets for a range of engineering materials, including thermoplastic and thermoset polymers.

Other Online Sources

World of Chemistry
Informative tutorials on Organic Chemistry, Geology, Quantum Chemistry, and many other pertinent subjects.
Chemical Elements
A free, interactive periodic table that provides information for each element.
The Gold Book
An online searchable Compendium of Chemical Terminology
ChemSpider - Synthetic Pages
ChemSpider SyntheticPages is a free database of practical procedures for research workers in synthetic chemistry, written by chemists for chemists.
Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (CDC)
NIOSH Pocket Guide (NPG) to Chemical Hazards - a source of general industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes

Recommended Online Journals

Chemistry related Journals

To access these journals, make sure you are logged in to your Shaw University Gmail or Bearsnet in your browser. Access is provided to Shaw University students, staff, and faculty.

Open Access Journals on Chemistry:

These journals are available without logging in to our Proxy services, and can offer you a wider variety of topics and coverage.

We also recommend that you check out the Directory of Open Access Journals to continue your research into specific topics.

Books in the Library

Chemistry: The Central Science

Chemistry: The Molecules of Life

Symphony in C: Carbon and the Evolution of (almost) Everything

eBooks

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary

Still Searching? Try This!

If you are looking for an article, journal or book that Shaw University does not have access to, we may be able to get you access through Interlibrary Loan or CRC Lending.

Shaw University is a member of the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges, which means that Shaw students, faculty, and staff can borrow items at other CRC libraries. Prior to going to one of these libraries, you must pick up the appropriate documentation from the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center. Learn more about CRC here.
We also use Interlibrary loan, which ships an item from another library to Shaw U for you to borrow. It can take some time for items to arrive as they are sent by USPS mail and a form is required. Request an ILL here.

For details and request forms, see the Other Lending Resources guide.

If you are having trouble with your research, we can help! We are always available at the front information desk at both the James E. Cheek main library and the Divinity library during our operating hours. You can also email us at librarystaff@shawu.onmicrosoft.com.

Check out the Using the Library guide for more information about our services and help.

Chemistry