Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using the Library: At the Library

All about the Library's resources and how to use them.

Face Coverings

All persons are encouraged to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth while in the Library.

Events and Announcements

Navigating the Library

There's a lot to enjoy and utilize in the James E. Cheek Library. Here's where to find it:

Resource/Space Location
Archives display First floor, lobby
Art galleries

Atrium Art Gallery: first floor, hallway behind the elevator

Student Art Gallery: second floor, hallway outside the classroom

Book displays First floor, lobby
Books

First Floor Reading Room: General Collection

Second Floor Reading Room:

  • Curriculum Collection (education focus)
  • Journals
  • Fleming and Lee Collections (African American focus)
  • Reference Collection (encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, etc.)
Bulletin boards First floor, lobby
Classroom

Second floor

Computers

First Floor Reading Room

Second Floor Computer Lab

Event space First Floor Reading Room
Help from a librarian

First floor, front desk in lobby

Little Free Library First floor, just inside the front doors
Magazines & newspapers Currently Unavailable
Phone charging stations

First Floor Reading Room

Second Floor Reading Room

Printer/copier/scanners

First Floor Reading Room

Second Floor Reading Room

Restrooms

First floor, near front doors

Second floor, near main staircase

Study room Second Floor Reading Room
Study space

First floor, lobby

First Floor Reading Room: group study space

Second Floor Reading Room: quiet study space

Textbooks to borrow

First floor, front desk: textbooks placed on reserve for current courses

First Floor Reading Room: in the General Collection, search the catalog to find

Water fountains Currently Unavailable

How to Locate an Item on the Shelf

When you find an item in the library catalog, there is information that tells you where to find it. Here is how to understand that information for physical items:

Explanation of location info in catalog

And you can always ask library staff for help finding something. We are happy to help!

Browsing the Shelves for Books

Books are arranged on the shelf by subject, so if you find a book that's useful, browse around the nearby shelves for related books.

To browse for books on a subject, use this outline of the classification system we use to find its general location on the shelves. Click on any of the classes to view an outline of its subclasses. For example, books about social problems will have call numbers that start with HN.

Wi-Fi and Printing

Wi-Fi

To use the Library's free Wi-Fi, select the "Wifi-Guest" network and enter the password: shawbears.

Printing

There are two full-color printers available at the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center, all of which can be accessed with your Shaw U Credentials. You must be a current faculty, staff, or student member of the community to access our printers, and either have your ID card with you or know your Shaw Credentials to retrieve your prints

To Print on a Shaw Computer

  1. Login using your Shaw Credentials
  2. Make sure the printer you send to is "Shaw Secure Print"
  3. Go to the printer, and login using your credentials OR your Bears Card
  4. Select "Secure Print" on the printer touch screen
  5. Select your items, and click "Print & Delete" to retrieve your items
  6. Select "Log Out" once your print has been retrieved

To Print from Your Computer or on Mobile

  1. You MUST send from a Shaw email account
  2. Send your print job AS AN ATTACHMENT to print@shawu.edu
    • Attachments MUST BE either PDF, MS Word, MS Excel, Powerpoint, or JPEG/PNG to print correctly
    • Email text and webpages will not print, only attachments to that email
  3. Go to the printer, and login using your credentials OR your Bears Card
  4. Select "Secure Print" on the printer touch screen
  5. Select your items, and click "Print & Delete" to retrieve your items
  6. Select "Log Out" once your print has been retrieved

For further assistance, please contact us!
Shaw University Libraries - James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center
118 E. South Street - Raleigh, NC 27609
919-546-8407 - shawu.edu/libraries

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.