Shaw University Library Guides: Using the Library: Policies & Accessibility

Shaw Accessibility

Shaw U is committed to accessibility, much of our procedures and access to information about Shaw U's Accessibility Compliance on the Shaw U Accessibility Page

In order to ensure equal access to library services, Shaw Campus has designated the following:

Two (2) handicapped parking spaces are designated in the rear library parking lot
Ramp Accessibility to both library locations main entrance
Elevator Access where available in Campus Buildings
ADA Compliant spacing between desks, work spaces, and bookshelves

Other parking accommodations or questions regarding accessibility on campus can be made by contacting Campus Security at 919.546.8249.

Staff Assistance

Staff of the Shaw University Libraries is happy to provide services to meet the needs of its users with different abilities.

Before beginning in-depth research, patrons requiring ADA or other ability assistance should contact a librarian to ensure uninterrupted assistance

The library staff will gladly assist with many things, such as:

The use of the online catalog
Providing specialized help to users needing assistance with library materials
Retrieving books from the stacks or areas that are hard to access
Providing available resources to assist with research and study needs

Please note that if extensive use of library resources is anticipated, patrons with extensive needs (such as strong visual impairment or limited mobility) are expected to bring assistance or devices used for regular accommodation purposes.

Upon request, the library will allow a designated Shaw student or staff member to check out and renew materials for differently-abled students without the student having to come to the Library.

Copyright and Plagiarism

Copyright Notice:

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Any persons using library equipment are liable for any infringement, and will be reported as necessary.

Plagiarism Notice:

Plagiarism is a violation of the Shaw University Student Code of Conduct, and will be reported as deemed necessary

For more information on these policies and the statements herein, please see our Copyright and Plagiarism LibGuide.

Borrowing Policies

Who can borrow?

Current Shaw University students, faculty, and staff may use their Shaw ID card to borrow library materials.
Shaw University alumni may also be granted Library privileges, under the discretion of the Library Director.
There are no public use technology or lending services available, and any visitors to the Library are subject to the Shaw University Code of Conduct, and may be asked to leave at any time.

Borrower Responsibilities

All Borrowers must use a valid Shaw ID card (only) to check out library materials.
Course Reserves items must not be removed from the Library.
Materials may be renewed three times if no one has requested them.
Renewals may be made by phone, or in-person at the circulation desk.
All materials are subject to recall after 1 week's use if deemed necessary by the Library.
Library users must not remove or attempt to remove Library materials or property without checking them out or without proper authorization.
Users should not mutilate or damage materials or tear pages from Library books.
Patrons are responsible for lost or damaged materials. If an item is lost, the borrower will be charged the cost of the item plus a processing fee.

Reference Material Policies

Reference materials must be used in the library only and may not be taken out of the library except by permission of the Library Director.
Students may make an appointment with the reference librarian if a research consultation is needed.

Some items in the Library collection are not permitted to be checked out and are for in-library use only:

Reference materials
Journals
The Mollie E. Lee Collection

For some special types of materials, the loan periods are the same for all borrowers:

Course Reserve items check out for 3 hours and must remain inside the library building.
Audiovisual materials (DVDs, CDs, etc.) check out for 2 weeks.

For all other types of items, the loan periods are as follows:

Type of Borrower	Length of Loan Period
Undergraduate Students Alumni	4 weeks
Graduate Students Staff	8 weeks
University Faculty SUDS Faculty	12 weeks
CRC Borrowers	4 weeks

If your item is due soon and you need it longer, you may extend the checkout period by renewing it according to the following policies:

If the item has been requested by another patron, the renewal will not be allowed.
Renewal periods:
- Course Reserves renew for 3 hours.
- Audiovisual items renew for 2 weeks.
- All other items renew for 4 weeks.
An item can be renewed a maximum of 3 times.

Type of Borrower	Maximum # of Items Checked Out at Once
Undergraduate Students Alumni	50
Graduate Students Staff University Faculty SUDS Faculty	No limit
CRC Borrowers	5

Books

If a book is overdue for 4 weeks, it will be deemed lost and the borrower will be charged a replacement fee of at least $100 plus a processing fee. The cost of the item will be waived if the item is then returned. The Library may accept replacement materials on case-by-case basis, at the discretion of the Library Director.

Audiovisual Materials

If an audiovisual item is overdue for 2 weeks, it will be deemed lost and the borrower will be charged a replacement fee of at least $100 plus a processing fee. The cost of the item will be waived if the item is then returned. The Library may accept replacement materials on case-by-case basis, at the discretion of the Library Director.

Course Reserves

If a Course Reserve item is overdue for 24 hours, it will be deemed lost and the borrower will be charged a replacement fee of at least $100 plus a processing fee. The cost of the item will be waived if the item is then returned.

Fines and fees for items not specified above may vary depending on type.

Payments

A payment plan or discussion of payments is handled through the Student Accounts office.
Payments will be due before registration for the next semester or sign-off for graduation will be allowed.

Library Building Policies

These policies were created to provide faculty, staff and students with a quiet and pleasant study environment and help preserve the University's collection, equipment, and library furnishings for all users.

Drinks are allowed in closed containers such as covered cups, cans or water bottles. Please do not bring uncovered beverages into the library, as these pose a risk to the library's equipment and materials.
Food must be packaged snacks (crackers, cookies, etc.) or in a container that are consumed by an individual.
- No group meals (e.g. pizza, buffet) are allowed in the library unless permission is granted by the Library Director
Loud conversations are not permitted in the 2nd floor Quiet Study Area; please keep your voices down. Group and Loud study is available in the 1st floor reading room.
Cell phones must be kept on vibrate when using the library. No speaker phone conversations are to be had in the building, and all calls should be taken to a hallway and not in the Reading Rooms.

Computer Use Policies

Students will need a valid Shaw University login in order to access the computers.
Computer use is on a first come, first served basis.
Computers are for research and educational purposes, only. Those who are found to be using computers for other purposes will be asked to leave and reported to Campus Police if in violation of campus policies.
There is no charge for printing, copying or scanning on the two printers.
Users must abide by the guidance of the University's Information and Technology Department.

When you attend a Shaw University lecture, event or program, you enter an area where photography, audio, and video recording may occur. By entering the event premises:

You consent to interview(s), photography, audio recording, video recording and its/their release, publication, exhibition, or reproduction to be used for any purpose by Shaw University.
You waive all rights you may have to any claims for payment or royalties in connection with these materials, regardless of the purpose or sponsoring.
You also waive any right to inspect or approve any photo, video, or audio recording taken by Shaw University or the person or entity designated to do so by Shaw University.

Shaw University Media Notice

The library is not responsible for personal items found or left in its spaces, including theft or damage to property that is not owned by the institution. We encourage you to keep items with you at all times, and to report missing items as soon as possible.

Items left in the James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center, or turned into our staff at any service desk, that are of value or have personal information (such as Credit Cards, Personal Information Cards, cell phones, wallets, etc.) will be kept in a secure staff-only area. These items are kept indefinitely, and our staff will attempt to reach the owner, if the item has personal information available.

Items of lower value or risk, such as pencils, jackets, chargers, etc., will be held in the lost and found area of the Circulation Desk until the end of each semester. After semester ends, items will be donated or discarded.

Library Policy Documents

Shaw Library General Policies Document
A full text version of many of the Shaw University Library Policies
Shaw University Library Collection Development Policy
A full text version of the Shaw University Library Collection Development Policy

Shaw University Archives Collection Development Policy

Audiobooks and eBooks

Audiobook Access

Through NC Live, patrons with disabilities have free, online access to a collection of approximately 1300 audio books, which are compatible with most devices. The entire collection focuses primarily on language learning audio books, classic literature, history, and biography.

Patrons can download and instantly listen to titles.

North Carolina library patrons can download the audio books from home or in their library with an Internet connection. The audio books are accessible from North Carolina library websites, and the NC LIVE website at http://nclive.org.

eBook Access

E-Books are available through NC LIVE

Currently NC LIVE offers E-Book (electronic book) content from the following providers:

E-Books on EBSCOhost - includes titles in Literature, Technology, Career & Self Help, how-to books, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - reference books and encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
ABC-CLIO - includes titles in History, Literature, and more.
MyiLibrary eBooks - includes titles in History, the Social Sciences, Criminal Justice, and more.
Learning Express Library - eBooks on career development topics, test prep, and personal development.
Open Library - NC LIVE has partnered with the Open Library to offer access to over 200,000 books published between 1924 and 1999. These E-Books cover many subjects and include fiction, young adult, and children's titles.

Upon request, the library will allow a designated Shaw student or staff member to check out and renew materials for disabled or visually impaired students without the student having to come to the Library.